“It is what you make of it”

So I was told by three different people on the same night. Prom night. On April 30th I attended my fifth prom, and none preceding it came close to comparing to the fun I had this time. All five proms I helped plan, but something was different about the fifth. Over the past four years, I suppose I’ve held such great expectations for each prom that when the night actually comes, I feel a huge let-down. I have trouble going with the flow, especially when things don’t turn out the way they were planned.

This year, however, I let go of my expectations. I was running late, but I still showed up. One of the first things my other siblings and I had to do was get our picture taken, but we still got to dance the rest of the night. I made my stomach hurt awful when I consumed a few cheesecake bars, strawberries coated in fresh-flowing, chocolate-fountain chocolate, and some little Rice Krispies treats, but I learned that there’s a reason I haven’t eaten any of the food at all four other proms. I didn’t get to socialize with the friends I don’t get to see often, but I got to say Hi and chat with them a little, even if it was while we were getting on our grooves on the dance floor.

Later that night, after everything was over, I sat and thought it through. To be honest, I had in fact walked in the doors with some expectations, but this time another resolution stuck fast beside them: Whatever comes, I AM going to have fun.

“It is what you make of it.” I love this saying, not only because it made this April 30th the best prom night of my life, but also because I can apply to people, as well.

On this note, I’d like to share that there are a couple people I used to hate. Maybe “hate” is too strong a word – but I greatly disliked them! The funny thing is: those people and I are growing stronger in our close friendship every day! I disliked them probably for several reasons, all superficial: they were pretty (they still are), they talked to people to whom I’d never found it easy to talk (they still do, only now I’m in the conversations, too), and they always seemed to get along with people with whom I’d never found it that easy to get along (they still do, only I’ve somewhat mastered the ability, too).

Looking back, I realize something. “They are who you make of them.” I made myself believe that I should dislike those people because of their looks, their behavior, their relationships with others. My judgments concerning them were by no means open-minded, so I thought they and I could and never would get along.

Throughout the years, however, I’ve come to the conclusion that if I force myself to believe that I can’t be friends with someone, it makes it terribly hard to change my mind and try to befriend them. Maybe this saying would only really mean anything to me because of my personality and who I am, but perhaps it applies to anyone who thinks they dislike a person for some shallow reason or another.

I am not saying that if you whisper, “It is what you make of it. It is what you make of it. It is what you make of it,” twenty-three times during a fantastically dull party, things will magically brighten up. I am not saying that if you think, “They are what I make of them,” you’ll suddenly see them through different eyes which make them out to be wonderful amazing people (although that would be nice!) All I am trying to say is that if you give that boring event or those people of whom you may be jealous an honest chance,  you might just find that that night was the most wonderful of your life, or that person your future best friend.

One response to ““It is what you make of it”

Leave a Reply

