The Magic Hour

Though 23 is and shall forever remain my favorite number, I have come to the thoughtful conclusion that 12 is the Magic Number. (Or a magic number, anyway.) For the clock struck midnight warning Cinderella

to flee her Prince and hurry home. Without the number 12 we would not have a Dozen. (Baker’s Dozen does not count.) A boy or girl enters the pre-teen world at the age of 12. Annnd… 12:00PM stares me in the face most nights as I’m snuggled in bed reading, or at the table cutting and pasting scrapbook paraphernalia together, or sneaking on to the computer to type up random posts such as this.

There have got to be other reasons why the number 12 is significant. 12 makes up half the hours of the day? The 12 Days of Christmas? Hmmm…Β can you think of any? Let me know πŸ™‚

2 responses to “The Magic Hour

  • saritabug

    Interesting post! Yep, I’m in the pre-teen world, but I’ll be 13 this month! Woohoo!
    Just out of curiosity, why is 23 your favorite number? Hannah and I both like 8; it’s has a significant role in one of Hannah’s stories.
    I definitely think that the 12 days of Christmas are significant. And 12:00 is when the New Year begins…the 12 disciples? I can’t think of anything else.

    You know, there’s a great Christian songwriter I listen to a LOT…his name is Andrew Peterson. One of his songs on his new album is titled “The Magic Hour”, and I laughed when I saw your blog post name! πŸ™‚ I really like that song, too!

    Thanks for posting!

    Sarita

  • Christy

    To tell the truth, my favorite number used to change every year, up till about 3 years ago. (No, it wasn’t because I kept deciding I liked my new birthday age :P) I don’t know what made me finally decide to settle with 23, but I have and it’s wonderful. My second favorite number is 17, then probably 13.

    That’s cool! DUDE, that’s an awesome idea! I need to incorporate 23 into MY stories… xD

    Oh duh! *Facepalm* The New Year DOES begin at 12… or some technically say 12:01, but meh, who cares? πŸ˜‰

    LOL! For serious? Hahaha that’s so awesome!

    Thanks so much for reading all my crazy posts, Sarita! I really really appreciate it! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    ~Nina

Leave a Reply

