This season doesn’t feel so wonderful after all.

I went over to see Shaina for one last time tonight. I thought all my tears were shed, that I wouldn’t wake up with puffy eyes again so soon. But I expect that tomorrow morning I’ll have a hard time opening my eyes all the way, just like the day before.

Why does she have to die? Why did she have to go half blind? Why did she have to get struck with a sickness that caused her head to be crooked from then on? Why does she have to grow old? Why does she have to be put down?

These questions are absurd. She’s just an animal, just a dog. She’s not human, she doesn’t have a foul.

But she’s so… Shaina. I miss her already and love her so much. Rest in peace, you amazing girl. 

Leave a Reply

