“Are You Ok?”

I believe that when a person asks you, “Are you ok?” they don’t really mean how are you doing. Generally they expect you to say, “Oh! I’m doin’ just fine,” or “I’m ok,” or “Good. How about you?”

So when a friend asked me if I was ok, and when I replied that I, in fact, was not, she didn’t respond right away. When she did, I could tell from the hesitancy in her voice that she didn’t really know what to say to that.

I suppose in situations such as that we find out if the person asking us that question is truly a good friend. A genuine friend will ask how you are doing; then if you respond downheartedly, he will ask if he can help with anything; she’ll hug you to her and cry with you; he won’t tell you right away that “Everything will be alright” but that he’ll stick with you through these trying times anyway.

Even when life gets me down, especially as it has recently, I have to keep in mind that though my best friends here on earth are an amazing comfort, the one and only loyal and trusted Friend is Jesus Christ. And though I can’t talk to him face-to-face, I can thank him wholeheartedly that he hears my prayers and will answer each and every one of them in his own way, in his own timing, however he sees fit.

Thank you, Lord, for all with which you’ve blessed me. Please help me never to take it for granted.

One response to ““Are You Ok?”

Leave a Reply

